List of all the Superman-based songs I’ve heardd till now. [Part II]

Then we have,

8.’Sunshine Superman’ by Donovan.                                                                                                                                           He’s this really old Scottish song writer/singer & he sang this song back in 1965. Once again, old songs don’t strike a cord with me.

‘..’Cause I made my mind up
you’re going to be mine,
I’ll tell you right now.
Any trick in the book now, baby,
all that I can find,
Superman and Green Lantern ain’t got
a-nothin’ on me..’

9. ‘I am Superman’ by The Academy Is.                                                                                                                                  I never really paid much attention to this band before but turns out they play Emo/Punk Rock .. guess they might have some better tracks than this but anyway,

‘..I am Superman and I know what’s happening
I am (I am), I am Superman
And I can do anything
I am (I am), I am Superman
And I know what’s happening
I am (I am), I am Superman
And I can do anything..’

10. ‘Superman’ by The Recieving End of Sirens

‘..Superman on an aeroplane
Sitting next to Lois Lane
You got that woman but you want her gone
So you can sleep with a teenage blonde
You turn it on like a leaking tap
And dripping dropping people drop of a hat
You gotta mouth but you ain’t got guts
That drunken mouth you should keep it shut..’

11. ‘Waiting for Superman’ by Flaming Lips.

‘..Is it overwhelming
To use a crane to crush a fly?
It’s a good time for Superman
To lift the sun into the sky
Because it’s getting heavy
Well, I thought it was already as heavy as can be
Tell everybody waiting for Superman
That they should try to hold on best they can
He hasn’t dropped them, forgot them or anything
It’s just too heavy for Superman to lift..’

12.’Superman Inside’ by Eric Clapton.                                                                                                                                     Yes. Yes I do hate him.

‘..Look in the mirror, even with a broken heart I’m fine.
Keep on pushing, getting closer to peace of mind.
Look in the mirror, even with a broken heart I’m fine.
Living is so sweet now with Superman inside..’

13.’Superman Lover’ by Johnny Watson.                                                                                                                                  I don’t think there’s anything worse than a MAN saying the following;

‘..Is it a bird, is it a plane
But beyond is lover
Is it a bird, is it a plane
It’s the superman..’

See what I mean?    =S

14.’I’m no Superman’ by Lazlo Bane.                                                                                                                                         This song is the theme for Scrubs & I like it loads!

‘..But I can’t do this all on my own
No, I know I’m no Superman
I’m no Superman..’

Anyway I think I’ll stop here before I continue onwards to horrible songs so yehh this is it.

Also, I guess many of us may have noticed the trend in their lyrics .. some songs are based on how you’re better than superman, how you’re just like superman, how you can’t be like superman, or that superman is just a normal person who has Lois Lane for himself.

But my favorite interpretion still has to be of Five for Fighting since its shows a whole new side of superheroes [particualrly Superman] ..

About this entry